Drake – ‘If Your Reading This It’s Too Late’ [Review]

drakeDrake introduces a new era in his career with the release of surprise project If Your Reading This It’s Too Late. The project, expected to sell over half-million copies in its first week, was unexpectedly uploaded to iTunes last Thursday night, a new concept of promotion for higher-tier artists. After reading lyrics, listening to personal reviews and listening to a few tracks on #BennettKnowsRadio, I decided that it was time to join the party. The project opens up with Legend setting the pace for the grimy Boi-1da and Noah-40 Shebib production. Drizzy takes us through a 17-track journey exploring themes of success, star-power and reflection, all aspects of Drake’s new Nothing Was The Same follow-up. Notable tracks include Energy, a nod to the Toronto rapper’s haters and enemies alike. (“I got rap niggas that I gotta act like I like, But my actin’ days are over, fuck them niggas for life”) and “Know Yourself”, a smooth self-empowering track that exemplifies one of Drake’s influences on culture, introducing new slang at the height of style. (“Running through the six with my woes”). Drake fires shots at Young Money amongst the current financial dispute on “Star 67” as he brags about his craft (“Brand new Beretta, can’t wait to let it go! Walk up in my label like, ‘Where the check, though?”). Drake also fires shots at label-mate Tyga and rapper Childish Gambino for various reasons on “6PM In New York” (“Oh you tried it, so childish, calling my name on the world stage! You need to act your age and not your girl’s age,” referencing his current relationship with Kylie Jenner). According to Rolling Stone, the lower stakes for If Your Reading This It’s Too Late allows Drake to focus on his strengths; the brags are less humble, the threats more pointed. “Please do not speak to me like I’m that Drake from four years ago,” he sneers on “No Tellin’.” “I’m at a higher place.” Amongst the bragging and hard hitting lines comes one vulnerable track titled “You & The 6”, which reflects on Drake and his mothers past, present and future experiences. Collaborations on the project include PARTYNEXTDOOR on my favorite track titled “Preach”, Lil Wayne on another hard-hitting track titled “Used To” and Travi$ Scott on another favorite titled “Company”. If your looking for radio-friendly tracks, look further, this time around Drizzy doesn’t need to be remembered for the fire he spits over the murky piano loops and wispy R&B sampl  combinations. This is the new era; Drake knows the he has the crown and he’s not giving it up! Serving as the closest to Drake’s mixtape So Far Gone, don’t expect Drake’s scheduled album Views From The 6 to follow this type of energy. However, enjoy it! This is one of the best projects of the year thus far! Check out the tracklisting below!

1. Legend
2. Energy
3. 10 Bands
4. Know Yourself
5. No Tellin’
6. Madonna
7. 6 God
8. Star67
9. Preach
10. Wednesday Night Interlude
11. Used To
12. 6 Man
13. Now And Forever
14. Company
15. You & The 6
16. Jungle
17. 6PM In New York

Drake Takes Us Through The “Jungle” In 15-Minute Film 

12 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Kendrick Lamar Announces Sophomore Album [Untitled] – Pop Culture Blog by Bennett Koffa
  2. New Music: Drake – “Madonna” [New Verse] #BennettKnows – Pop Culture Blog by Bennett Koffa
  3. Drake Makes Out With Madonna During Coachella Performance [Watch] #BennettKnows – Pop Culture Blog by Bennett Koffa
  4. New Music: Drake – “Can I” ft. Beyonce & Sal Houdini [Listen] #BennettKnows – Pop Culture Blog by Bennett Koffa
  5. New Music: Drake’s “Go Out Tonight” + “On A Wave” ft. Tinashe Hits The Web [Listen] #BennettKnows – Pop Culture Blog by Bennett Koffa
  6. Drake Changes “Madonna” Lyrics To “Rihanna” At Recent Concert – Pop Culture Blog by Bennett Koffa
  7. Drake Responds To Ghostwriting Allegations, Meek Mill Beef + More! #BennettKnows – Pop Culture Blog by Bennett Koffa
  8. 2015 Was An Amazing Year In Music: What Were The Year’s Top Albums? [Review] #BennettKnows – Pop Culture Blog by Bennett Koffa
  9. What Are The Most Anticipated Projects Of 2016? [Poll] #BennettKnows | Pop Culture Blog by Bennett Koffa
  10. @Drake’s ‘Views From The Six’ May Be Coming Very Soon! #BennettKnows | Pop Culture Blog by Bennett Koffa
  11. New Music: @Drake – “Sweeterman (Remix)” [Listen] #BennettKnows – Pop Culture Blog by Bennett Koffa
  12. Did Drake’s ‘VIEWS’ Meet The Expectations? [Album Review] – BennettKnows The Latest In Music and Culture


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: